Industry News

Additional Articles
SuperBike Miller Race Results 2012

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Graves took the AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike win at Miller Motorsports Park.
May 29, 2012

Tooele, UT - Industry News From AMA Pro Racing
Motorcycle USA

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Graves took the AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike win at Miller Motorsports Park. The Yamaha rider was followed by teammate Josh Herrin, taking his best finish of the season so far in second and Yoshimura Racing’s Blake Young who took third. The Suzuki ace held steady in second for much of the race, though Herrin was always close behind and made a pass for position in the final lap. Neither rider was able to contend with Hayes, who finished over seven seconds ahead of his teammate. Team Amsoil/Hero’s Geoff May scored fourth-place and Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom came across the finish in fifth.

"What an awesome day," said Hayes. "The bike was good, things have been pretty smooth for the weekend, we didn't really make too many changes, and we just worked on getting good clean laps. All in all, it was a pretty smooth run."

Hayes grabbed the early lead and the road racing veteran immediately put his head down and made a charge to pull away. Meanwhile, the battle for second-place position was heated between Herrin and Young. The Suzuki ace eventually grabbed a solid hold of the position but Herrin remained within striking distance and made the pass in the final lap to take second from Young.

"I got lucky with that pass on the outside," said Herrin. "It was pretty sketchy because it was dusty out on the edge of the track but luckily it stuck. I was able to hold him off the rest of the lap. Hopefully we can be a contender for a win later on in the season but for now I'm ecstatic getting second."

National Guard Suzuki rider Roger Hayden took advantage of a mistake by Herrin early in the session and was able to take third. The Kentucky rider didn’t hold position long though. Soon after his pass Hayden crashed out of the race, giving third back to the Yamaha pilot. Herrin quickly put himself right back on the rear tire of Young to challenge for second position. This gave Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostom the opportunity to close the gap on the two riders eventually making it a three rider battle.

At the halfway point, Hayes continued to stretch out his lead while the three rider battle for second continued. Geoff May was quickly gaining on Bostrom hoping to add one more rider to the battle royal. The EBR rider eventually took position from Bostrom in the final laps, earning fourth-place.

Hayes regained the overall points lead after his performance at Miller, bumping Young down to second. Despite crashing out, Hayden remains in third and Herrin follows in fourth. May and Danny Eslick are moving up the tally sheet with every round as they both continue to improve on the American made EBR machines.

2012 SuperBike Miller Results:

    1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
    2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
    3. Blake Young (Suzuki)
    4. Geoff May (EBR)
    5. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)
    6. Danny Eslick (EBR)
    7. Larry Pegram (BMW)
    8. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
    9. David Anthony (Suzuki)
    10. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
    11. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki)
    12. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki)
    13. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki)
    14. Reno Karimian (Kawasaki)
    15. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)
2012 SuperBike Championship Points:
    1. Josh Hayes, 194
    2. Blake Young, 187
    3. Roger Hayden, 114
    4. Josh Herrin, 109
    5. Larry Pegram, 96
    6. Geoff May, 95
    7. Danny Eslick, 86
    8. Steve Rapp, 83
    9. Chris Clark, 79
    10. Chris Fillmore, 77

Progressive Insurance

AMA Pro Flat Track heads to the season finale this weekend for the Ramspur Winery Santa Rosa Mile presented by Triumph
September 20, 2016

AMA releases 2017 professional competition numbers
September 20, 2016

Additional News

2016 Yamaha
FZ07 Petite Beast
March 13, 2016

2002 Yamaha
Great Commuter & Trail Bike
November 28, 2015

Additional Reviews

Policies | Privacy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer | Site Map